advice from a fairy godmother

img_0680Sweet girl,

I see you starting to understand that you can’t fit everyone in your boat. Sadly, that is true. I’m so sorry. I know it’s hard.

I see you looking at the shore. I know it’s scary. You’ve been in the boat a long time. Don’t hurry, but do keep thinking about it.

You knew so little of the world, before the lesson. I don’t have to tell you that it’s a truly terrifying place. But it is also bigger and more wonderful than you could have imagined.

You’re doing an amazing job. I see how hard you’re working. Don’t forget to rest sometimes. It’s okay for you to rest. When I say rest, I do not mean be lazy and watch TV all day. I mean take a nap. Your body and brain are changing so much. You need more sleep.

Also, I know there are vegetables that you like. Please eat more of them.  Your future selves will thank you.

Love,

Auntie